Internship Post #5

A bit of excitement this week: I was offered an internship (through inside connections) at the Santa Barbara Choral Society for the summer, probably in the development department. I am still waiting for more information, but it could potentially be a good opportunity to design my own internship program, and work closely with a small organization to learn valuable skills. I’m mulling it over, so don’t get too excited 🙂

My updated work learning goals include:

  1. Developing my sponsorship and development skills, which is an aspect to arts administration that I have begun to explore through the film festival class this term, and have enjoyed so far.
  2. Programming of a long-term event. I have only ever worked for one-day events, so I am interested in learning how to recreate an event for many days, with slightly different content.
  3. Curation of a large-scale event. Though my work this year with the Willamette Valley Music Festival, I have learned a little bit about programming different types of events throughout one blanket happening. I would like to explore this more.

Updated professional statement: I believe that participation from citizens in local arts makes a stronger community, that it acts as an investment in our habitat. I hope to one day create events that bring people together in a way that creates belonging and celebrates creativity.

 

You need to enable you comments feature, so I can comments! —

Comments are closed.

