Field Guide Journal 3

Today I began to lay out my field guide in InDesign.

I quickly realized that even the 100-200 words that I wrote for each piece is too long, especially when I’m hoping to incorporate pictures for each piece and still keep the book small enough to carry around easily (if it were to ever be published, as field guides should be).

But I’m really enjoying being able to take my research and synthesis and put it into a visual element, in a way that makes sense to me. It’s that curatorial effect that allows you to take everything you’ve learned, process it, and output something creative. Especially because my field guide is about art, it’s nice to be able to feel like I am contributing to the creative process, even if it’s through a digital medium.

Comments are closed.

